Well, the Dolphins’ new uniforms have leaked

by Andrew Bailey

(via UniWatch)

(via UniWatch)

As much as I love the thrill of early access, there’s something to be said for the days where anticipation paid off on schedule rather than via an inopportune leak out of left field.

This afternoon, the brand new Dolphins uniforms leaked shortly after the Jacksonville Jaguars’ unveiled their own fresh new look. The same thing happened with the new logo, so I suppose all is harmonic with the way in which the uniforms first met the public’s eye. It just feels a little anticlimactic this way, that’s all.

On the bright side, the new look is brilliant at first brush. The white-on-white uniform has dismissed the shadowed bubble letters in favor of digits reminiscent of the early Dan Marino era. They’re flat, smooth, and most of all, extraordinarily clean. The display uniforms that were leaked are of the sleeveless variety, so it remains to be seen whether or not they’ll be striped like in previous iterations. Add to that the white face mask and aqua helmet stripe and the end result is a well-constructed overhaul that relies an awful lot on subtleties and getting back to the franchise’s basics.

(via UniWatch)

(via UniWatch)

I’ll need a bit more time to digest the aqua jerseys, if only because the hue has changed so dramatically. The new aqua is lighter in tone and, again, recalls the franchise’s early years, specifically the 1960’s era Dolphins of the AFL. I’m too young to have a lot of attachment to this time period, obviously, but I’m more often than not in favor of tapping into whatever history is available. The Dolphins have too much of it to detach from it aggressively.

On the new look as a whole, it probably seems like I’ve been an entrenched optimist. I defended the new logo, I spent an absurd $50 on a t-shirt just to support the new look early, and now I’m openly digging on the new uniforms. And, yeah, there’s probably a bit of manifest’s destiny at play. I wanted to like the new logo and the new uniforms, and so I’d conditioned myself to think of them favorably even before they came along. But on the other hand, I like to think I have a pretty strong critical thinking ability and the bottom line is, I like everything I’ve seen to one degree or another.

In fact, I like it so much, I’m still giddy about Thursday’s uniform unfurling ceremony even though I’ve already seen the goods.

